LibGuides: KIN 224: Foundations and History of Physical Education: SAU databases & journals

Other Databases

These databases are found by selecting Find Articles from the library homepage. If off campus, you will need to access SAU databases by going through the proxy server. Watch the Off campus database access video found in "How-to tutorials."

Highwire Press
This database provides free access to abstracts. Some full-text articles are clearly marked as "free."

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
"JSTOR currently includes more than 2,000 academic journals, dating back to the first volume ever published, along with thousands of monographs and other materials relevant for education." Particularly strong in History and the Humanities.

Credo Reference
"This database provides 3,410,565 full text entries in 587 reference books including encyclopedias, dictionaries, biographies, quotations, bilingual dictionaries, crossword solver, & measurement conversions."

Journals at SAU

A list of relevant journals either held by the SAU library or indexed in a periodical database (See Reference Librarian if questions.)

Annals of Iowa (v.1-11, 1863-1915; v.24- , 1942-)
Illinois Historical Journal (v.77:3-91:1, 1984-1998; also indexed in JSTOR)
Illinois Heritage (v.1-, 1997-)
Iowa Heritage Illustrated (v.77- , 1996-)
Iowa Journal of History (v.1-59, 1903-1961)
Iowa Journal of History and Politics (v.1-46, 1903-1948)
Iowan (v.1, Oct 1952-Sep 1953; v.4-9, Jan 1956-Sep 1961; v.13- , 1964-)
Journal of Illinois History (v.1-, 1998-)
Journal of Physical Education and Sport
Journal of Sport Behavior
Journal of Sport History (in SAU Library v.21, 1994 - v.34:3, 2008)
Palimpsest (now called Iowa Heritage Illustrated) (v.1-76, 1920-1995)
Mississippi Valley Historical Review (v.1-50, 1914-1964)
Studies in Iowa History (v.1, 1969-1970)