LibGuides: Astronomy 201: Sun & Stars

Books on the Sun & Stars @SAU Library

An Introduction to Star Formation by Derek Ward-Thompson; Mark Casali; Anthony P. Whitworth
Call Number: QB 806 .W36 2011
ISBN: 9780521630306
Publication Date: 2004-02-01
Cosmic Dawn by George Rhee
Call Number: QB982 .R444 2013
ISBN: 9781461478126
Publication Date: 2013-08-21
Nearest Star by Leon Golub; Jay M. Pasachoff
Call Number: QB521 .G65 2014
ISBN: 9781107672642
Publication Date: 2014-02-17
The Brightest Stars by Fred Schaaf
Call Number: QB815 .S33 2008
ISBN: 9780471704102
Publication Date: 2008-04-01
The Day the World Discovered the Sun by Mark Anderson
Call Number: In-process
ISBN: 9780306820380
Publication Date: 2012-05-08
The Life and Death of Stars by Kenneth R. Lang
Call Number: QB806 .L36 2013
ISBN: 9781107016385
Publication Date: 2013-03-25
The Star Atlas Companion by Philip M. Bagnall
Call Number: QB 63 .B34 2012
ISBN: 9781461408291
Publication Date: 2012-08-13
Under a Crimson Sun by David S. Stevenson
Call Number: QH326 .S74 2013
ISBN: 9781461481324
Publication Date: 2013-08-09

Star Clusters

NASA ScienceCast: Fried Planets

Astronomers have caught a red giant star in the act of devouring one of its planets. It could be a preview of what will happen to Earth five billion years from now.

For more videos, visit NASA on Youtube.com.

Best Bets Databases

Corona of the Sun during a Solar Eclipse
Creator/Photographer: Thomas Smillie

Credo Reference
This database provides 3,410,565 full text entries in 587 reference books including encyclopedias, dictionaries, biographies, quotations, bilingual dictionaries, crossword solver, & measurement conversions.

EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
EBSCOhost is provided by IowaLink, and funded by the Roy J. Carver Charitable Trust. This service is a collection of databases (many full-text) focusing on business, health & clinical reference, academic subjects, and international newspapers. The materials found in this service include journals, books, pamphlets, reference resources, and newspapers.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Central accesses 27 different databases to form the one of the largest multidisciplinary database availalble. You will find a variety of specialty journals on business, biology, science & technology, health and medical information, social sciences, arts and humanities, as well as newspaper sources.

Explore the Sun and Stars

Ask an Astronomer: Stars & Star Clusters
Provides answers to questions regarding stars and star clusters. Ask an Astronomer is run by volunteers in the Astronomy Department at Cornell University.
NovaLabs: The Sun Lab
This Lab explores what makes the Sun so volatile and gives you access to the same data, images, and tools that scientists use to predict solar storms. Create a free account to track your progress. Information is provided by PBS and NASA.
Stanford Solar Center: About the Sun
The Stanford Solar Center is dedicated to sharing the joy and excitement of solar science exploration. Acting as the education and public outreach arm of the Solar Observatories Group, and funded by NASA, the Solar Center provides resources, activities, and projects relating to the Sun for teachers, students, and the public.
Stars & Stellar Evolution
Provided by the Chandra X-Ray Observatory the information focuses on stellar evolution and on the youth and middle age of stars. Chandra and other X-ray telescopes focus on the high-energy action of this drama - the turbulent, multimillion degree outer atmospheres and gale-force outflows of gas from hot, luminous stars.
Universe 101: The Life and Death of Stars
A site provided by NASA that contains information on how stars form, live and die.