Skip to main content

Archives and Special Collections: For Instructors

The Archive is accessible Monday through Friday from 8 am – 4:30 pm. Appointments are preferred, please contact the archivist.

Contact the Archivist

Facebook

No automatic alt text available.

Follow the St. Ambrose University Archives on Facebook!

Archives Class Visit

Instructors: Need a break from teaching your class? Don't want to deal with assigning homework? Schedule a class trip to the St. Ambrose University Archive! 

CSI: Archives

CSI: Archives

Goals

  • Discover what an archive is and the role of an archivist
  • Recognize the archive as a resource
  • Learn research etiquette and handling techniques

We begin by discussing the definition of an archive, the type of materials available in the SAU archive and the functions of the archivist. We explore the forces that destroy archival materials such as light, water, fire and pests. However, the biggest threat to collections are people! Participants examine archival crime scenes and determine how each document or artifact met its untimely demise. Viewing traumatic scenes ensures that students will not commit the same crime.

What Sourcery Is This?

What Sourcery Is This?

Goals

  • Identify primary and secondary sources
  • Discover the informational value of archival material

Participants are given a sample collection that features buildings on the St. Ambrose campus. These collections contain material about the history of Ambrose Hall, the Christ the King Chapel, and the Library. Participants explore the collections to identify primary and secondary sources, find information about the building's history and create a timeline or a story for the building featured in your collection.

Time Travel at SAU

Time Travel at SAU

Goals

  • Use primary sources to answer questions at St. Ambrose's past
  • Compare and contrast campus life then and now
  • Consider the materials the current generation should preserve

So much about St. Ambrose has changed throughout the decades. What was the price of tuition in 1912? Where was the gym located in 1965? What were students and faculty wearing at that time? Participants will use primary sources, such as yearbooks and catalogues, to find the answers to these questions and more!