Skip to main content

Archives and Special Collections: Digital Collections

The Archive is accessible Monday through Friday from 8 am – 4:30 pm. Appointments are preferred, please contact the archivist.

Contact the Archivist

Facebook

No automatic alt text available.

Follow the St. Ambrose University Archives on Facebook!

St. Ambrose Digital Collections

Click on the link below to see the St. Ambrose University Archives Digital Collections

St. Ambrose Yearbooks

St. Ambrose proudly presents their collection of digitized yearbooks! St. Ambrose yearbooks were published from 1913 to 1984.

The Ambrosian: 1913 - 1923

The Oaks: 1940 -1941; 1948 -1984 

You can browse through the yearbooks by selecting the “Page Flip View” button or you can adjust the viewing window. This video shows the different ways to view the yearbooks.

The yearbooks are key word searchable. The video provides a quick demonstration on conducting key word searches for the yearbook collection.

Lewis Letters

Thomas and Charles Lewis were brothers who attended St. Ambrose College in the 1930s. While at school, the two wrote letters to their mother, Mrs. Ollie R. Lewis. Both brothers enlisted in the Army. Charles was killed in action during the New Guinea Campaign in the Pacific War Theatre. Thomas survived World War II and went on to have a distinguished military career, reaching the rank of Lt. Colonel and serving in the Korean War.

Catich Digital Collection

Fr. Edward Catich (1906-1979), one of the world's finest calligraphers, was known as an international authority on stone incising, typography, and stained glass fabrication, and as the foremost authority on the Roman alphabet, its origin, nature, and history.

St. Ambrose houses the world's largest collection of Fr. Catich's work. After his death, he left a large portion of his collection to John Schmits, professor of art at St. Ambrose University. It is estimated that the University houses nearly 5,000 Catich works, ranging from sketch books and small drawings to major pieces of art -- primarily watercolors, ink drawings, and slates.

The Catich Digital Collection would not have been possible without the generosity of the Riverboat Development Authority.