LibGuides: Theology: Master of Pastoral Theology: Library Resources

Books at the SAU Library

Library Central This link opens in a new window
Library Central combines SAU's book catalog and most of our databases into one unified searching interface. Use Library Central if you're looking to find a wide variety of sources with a minimum amount of searching. The sheer volume of results can be overwhelming, however, so use lots of search filters!

Genesis -- Commentaries
a list of SAU 's holding with the exact subject Genesis -- Commentaries
Subject is (exact) GOD AND (traits OR character) NOT (existence OR trinity OR jesus)
These are SAU holdings, Sign into Library Central for full-text of any e-books if you are off-campus.
Subject is (exact) GOD AND (traits OR character) NOT (existence OR trinity OR jesus)
These books (held by our partner libraries can be requested through Interlibrary Loan or by signing into the Library Central catalog with your SAU network credentials and clicking on the title, then the holding library link in the record.

Abraham by Terence E. Fretheim; James L. Crenshaw (Series edited by)
Call Number: Library Second Floor Stacks BS580.A3 F74 2007
ISBN: 9781570036941
Publication Date: 2007
Subjects: Abraham (Biblical patriarch)
Chapter on: Isaac birth, endangerment, and sign of the future
Interpreting Abraham : journeys to Moriah by Bradley Beach (Editor); Matthew Powell (Editor)
Call Number: Library Second Floor Stacks BS1238.S24 I58 2014
ISBN: 9780800699581
Publication Date: 2014
Contents include chapters on : Genesis 22:1-19 / Christianity : traditional Christian interpretation of Genesis 22 /
Commentary on Genesis by Didymus; Robert C. Hill
Call Number: Second Floor Stacks BR60.F3 .D4913 2016 V. 132
ISBN: 9780813228457
Publication Date: 2016
The Genesis commentary among the works of Didymus

The collections below may be of interest, but are not directly tied to the assignments of Fall 2023

Journal of Pastoral Counseling
1999-2004, full-text
Journal of Pastoral Theology
Available from 1991 until 2021 full-text
Journal of Pastoral Care and Counseling
Available full-text from 2002 on to present.
Most recent 1 year(s) not available in full text (embargo for one year though the citations will be there and one can ILL it)
Pastoral Psychology
Articles Full Text: 09/01/1997 to present (with a 12 Month delay)
*Full text delay due to publisher restrictions ("embargo")
Books at SAU Library for Pastoral Counseling
Sign in to the Library Central web site after clicking on this link for full features. Look in the upper right corner.
Books on Pastoral Theology in our library
Books on Pastoral Care in our Library
Books on Clergy in our library

Websites of Interest

Pastoral Theology: Definition
from the The Catholic Encyclopedia.
The Catholic Health Association of the United States
Comprised of more than 600 hospitals and 1,400 long-term care and other health facilities in all 50 states, the Catholic health ministry is the largest group of nonprofit health care providers in the nation.
United States Conference of Catholic Bishops
These are the "Official” Catholic documents and views. Keep in mind that they would not include dissenting theological views.
Religion and Ethics Newsweekly
Website for the weekly TV program.
Google Scholar
Google Scholar gives you the ability to search a wide variety of journals easily, and to access journal articles that are freely available on the internet. Use the resource below to sync Google Scholar to your SAU google account.

How to sync Google Scholar with SAU Library content

SAU Library Databases

Atla Religion Database with AtlaSerials This link opens in a new window
This religious studies database from EBSCO includes 380 full-text scholarly journals and 2,500 indexed journals. Also includes the CATHOLIC PERIODICAL & LITERATURE INDEX, which includes essay collections, church documents, papal documents, and electronic resources addressing the practice and intellectual tradition of Roman Catholicism.

Jstor: Religion
Click here to search their Religion collection only

Religion and Philosophy This link opens in a new window
This unambitiously-named religion and philosophy database contains over 150 full-text scholarly journals.
Religion Database This link opens in a new window
This creatively-named religious studies database from ProQuest contains nearly 300 full-text scholarly journals and nearly 50 full-text magazines.

Helpful vids

Database searches

SR "Genesis 22" AND Isaac NOT Jesus
From ATLA database. the SR is a command to search for the Scripture for Genesis 22 as an official subject heading (the NOT always comes last if you want to eliminate a word or concept)
SR "Genesis 22" AND Abraham AND sacrifice NOT jesus
you get slightly different results with the change of keywords, but it will still be officially 'tagged' with the scripture chapter.
SR "Genesis 22:12"
This will search all articles referring to the exact verse 12 "Do not lay your hand on the boy or do anything to him, for now I know that you fear God, seeing you have not withheld your son, your only son, from me.”
Try different individual verses by changing the number after the : colon mark
SU(yahweh) AND SU(God -- Biblical teaching) AND TX(character) NOT jesus
notice the other subject headings in any article that you are considering.
SU(yahweh) AND TX(Old Testament AND exegesis) NOT (jesus OR trinity OR christ)

Interlibrary Loan OR Getting the full-text document

SAU Interlibrary Loan Portal
If the SAU library does not have the full-text of the source you need, you can borrow a book from another library for free OR get the pdf of the article full-text emailed to you by using Interlibrary Loan.

Your SAU network ID and password are used to log on.

Developing a Research Question

Helpful Prezi

Boolean Searching Tutorial
This helpful tutorial was made by another library. Contact your SAU librarian for further help and guidance using our databases.

Advanced Search Techniques

A note to users concerning database searching

If you are not an St. Ambrose University user, your local public library may have access to various databases that are subscription based. Call and ask your public library for details.